Cambridge Regional College - Centre of Vocational Excellence

Public vote Cambridge Regional College as Workplace of The Year in regional community sports awards

Cambridge Regional College is in the finals of a competition that celebrates community sports across the region.

The college has been voted by the public in Workplace of The Year category for the Living Sports Awards.

The awards are an annual event, which celebrate the brilliant achievements of the many talented athletes, officials, coaches, volunteers, organisations and clubs in Cambridgeshire and Peterborough.

Winners will be announced in a presentation evening at the end of November.

Simon Fairhall, Chief Executive of Living Sports, said: We once again have a fantastic shortlist of nominees for our Sports Awards and the contribution made by them, individually, let alone collectively is really quite inspiring.

” Community sport would not exist without the significant contribution made by organisers and coaches, most of whom are volunteers, and their organisations and our Sports Awards are a great occasion for us to celebrate, recognise and reward this.”

Peter Swann, from media partner BBC Radio Cambridgeshire, said: “We’re excited to be continuing our partnership with the Living Sport Sports Awards and once again celebrating the achievements of some of Cambridgeshire’s most talented, dedicated and passionate people.

“Sport is an important part of Cambridgeshire life, and we love telling those stories on air.”


The Ceremony is at the Burgess Hall in St Ives on Thursday November 28. There are 12 awards spread across a range of categories:

Freedom Leisure – Sports Performance of the Year

Lucy Warne (Equestrian)

Chroma Sports & Trophies – Youth Sports Performance of the Year

Samuel Missin (Touch Rugby), Ella Darrington (Rowing), Rupert Tideswell (Racing Kayaking)

Anglia Ruskin University Sport & Exercise Sciences –  Coach of the Year

Andy Matson (Multi-sport (triathlon), Sally Townsend-Smith (Netball), Iain Reid (Judo)

Community Volunteer of the Year – no sponsor

Jonathan Evans (Rugby, Hockey & Tennis), Paul Beastall (Athletics), Oliver Stevenson (Badminton)

Nene Park Trust – Young Community Volunteer of the Year

Lily Callaghan (Football/Multisports/Boccia), Stephanie Browne (Athletics), Joanna Rodrigues (Football)

Services to Sport Award – no sponsor

Colin Bedford (Badminton), Jim Hill (Football)

Lifeplus – Community Club of the Year

Three Counties Running Club, Wisbech Inline Speed Skating Club, Cambridge Dons Goalball Club

Baldwins –  School of the Year

Ditton Lodge Primary School, Gretton School, Samuel Pepys School

Everyone Health – Workplace of the Year Award

Wellcome Sanger Institute, BGL Group Ltd, Cambridge Regional College

3B Design & Print – Impact Awards

Danielle Guy, Friends of Histon, Jenny Parker

Irwin Mitchell – Jonnie Peacock Award

Gabriella Wells (Netball)

Matthew Warn Power of Sport Award – no sponsor

John Wroe, Love to Move, Knock Out Extremism

 For more information follow the link:


Cambridge Campus Status

Huntingdon Campus Status